Music News

Open Mic UK 2017 Winners

Posted on

Judges’ Top Scores and Prize Winners Announced

Open Mic UK 2017 Prize Winners: The Open Mic UK 2017 Grand Final judges’ top scores and prize winners have been revealed! The national music competition Open Mic UK Grand Final took place on Saturday 20th January at The NEC in Birmingham, and gave acts the chance to perform in front of a massive crowd and music industry judging panel. All acts were competing for the title of ‘Open Mic UK Champion 2017′!

Open Mic UK 2017 Winners

James Neilson has been crowned the overall winner of Open Mic UK 2017 and has now won; recording studio time to record his album and a video of the best single, plus extensive media promotion from a professional PR company. Check out the Open Mic UK 2017 Champion James Neilson’s winning performance below.

The Open Mic UK 2017 Grand Final judging panel included; platinum selling songwriter and artist Dane Bowers. Celebrity vocal coach and TV judge CeCe Sammy, who has worked with Diana Ross, Will Young, Simon Cowell and Leona Lewis. From Universal records Leon Haynes.

Head of talent at Syco Music Barney Addison. Preye Crooks from Columbia Records. James Ellet from Modest Management who manage Olly Murs, Little Mix and One Direction. Head examiner at RockSchool (RSL) Stuart Slater and Head of Future Music and responsible for discovering Birdy, Lucy Spraggan and Luke Friend Chris Grayston.

Open Mic UK 2017 Grand Final – Judges’ Top Scores

Under 16’s Top 5 Judges’ Scores:

1st – Joslyn

2nd – Kezia

3rd – Brooke Burke

Joint 4th – Alice and Taiya Mae

16-20’s Top 5 Judges’ Scores:

1st – SASS

2nd – Ellie Grant

3rd – Zoee

4th – Ollie Wild

5th – Sinead D’Abreu-Hayling

21 and Over Top 5 Judges’ Scores:

1st – James Neilson

2nd – Stefano Corona

3rd – Sara N Junbug

4th – Joe Pearce

Joint 5th – Davey Blast and Enny Owl

Future Music Songwriting Competition Winners

Winner – Denis Coleman

Runner up – Eve Rowlands

Check out Denis Coleman’s winning performance below.

Open Mic UK Showcase Winners

The following acts were selected as Showcase Winners at the Open Mic UK Grand Final, and will have a special showcase meeting with Future Music to discuss further development for their music careers.

  • Rosie Trentham
  • Alice
  • Alfie Arger
  • Giacomo
  • Brieya May
  • LisaMarie
  • Richard Fairlie
  • Jessie Dipper
  • Ollie Wild
  • Shivani
  • Taylor Benfield
  • Mya Boyd
  • Fine China
  • Joe Peace
  • Enny Owl
  • Hannah Glencross
  • James Neilson
  • Anon


The Open Mic UK music competition Grand Final is the climax of the whole competition! The event is situated in one of the best live music venues in the country – The NEC in Birmingham!